COWBOY JUNKIES – Sing In My Meadow

Formed in 1985 “Sing In My Meadow“ is the 15th studio album from
Canada’s Cowboy Junkies, and the third in the four part Nomad Series.
The band is made up of three siblings- vocalist Margo Timmins (vocals)
and her two brothers guitarist Michael and drummer Peter- the line up
completed by bass player Alan Anton, and as often is with a band like
this the musical chemistry appears to be that bit stronger.

Still gaining critical acclaim over 25 years into their career, the
Cowboy Junkies are still making albums as good as their 1988
breakthrough album “The Trinity Sessions”. The idea behind this new
album was to recreate the band’s live performances and with guitarist
Michael Timmins producing the record they have managed to do just that.
All eight tracks on “Sing In My Meadow” were recorded live in the studio
over a four day session and that energy can be felt throughout the

Opening track “Continental Drift” has a soundtrack quality to it,
“It’s Heavy Down Here” is musically sparse with trippy vocals riding
over it, whilst “I Move On” has a swirling psychedelic feel to it. Title
track “Sing In My Meadow” is dirty, bluesy and earthy sounding, “3rd
Crusade” almost has a late 1960’s Hendrix like touch to it. Other
highlights include “Hunted” and “A Bride’s Price”.

The band will complete The Nomad Series with the release of next
album “The Wilderness” and show no sign of resting on their laurels.

Nikk Gunns

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply