VOYAGER – The Meaning Of I

Album number four from this rather good progressive metal band. Not
sure why this band have never made a bigger impact as all their albums
are of a high standard. They do have a few line-up changes though as
sole original member Danny Estrin has added guitarist Scott Kay to the
line-up for this album.

Again this album is not an instant hit but keep playing and the
album reveals its aural treats each time. There is the Euro metal of
'Fire Of The Times' with Royal Hunt's DC Cooper guesting, the other
guest vocalist is Tesseract's Daniel Tompkins on 'The Pensive Disarray' -
a song which lifts Queen's 'We Will Rock You' drumbeat for the intro.

The band are not afraid to delve into electronica, often used in the
intros and backing on some songs. This works well on the album's best
song 'Iron Dream', a superb melody and shades of the mighty Type O
Negative in the vocal arrangements. Superb stuff and a fitting tribute
to the late Peter Steele.

Overall their best album since their debut 'V'. I really do urge
fans of progressive and melodic metal to give this band a try as I am
sure you won't be disappointed. A band who experiment yet never lose
sight of a decent melody in their songs.

Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply