XTC ‘Apple Venus – Volume 1′ Cooking Vinyl (2003)


Ahhh XTC a fine band who started out in the late 70′s New Wave boom and have since spread their musical wings in any direction that takes their fancy. Sadly due to main man Andy Partridge’s stage fright problems they have been a studio based band since the early 80′s onwards. After leaving long standing label Virgin following the usual label hassles, XTC released this little pop rock gem. From the opening drip drop strings on ‘River Of Orchids’ you just knew this was something special. The musical arrangements are simply breathtaking be it the school production effects – recorders and woodwinds on ‘Harvest Festival’ through to the lush sound of ‘Knights In Shining Karma’. Andy Partridge hits the English love of whimsy right on the head with the excellent ‘Frivolous Tonight’ – an absolute pop rock gem. Elsewhere his then recent relationship troubles result in the cutting ‘Your Dictionary’. Get this,  as well as ‘Volume 2′ for some of the finest pop rock music around.

Where are they now?

XTC is basically now just Andy Partridge. The band released ‘Apple Venus Volume 2′ and then there were the Apple Venus demos released a few years ago plus Andy Partridge has been releasing lots of his own musical wanderings under the ‘Fuzzy Warbles’ title. An extremely talented writer and musician who never really gets the accolades he deserves.

Track listing:

1 River of Orchids

2 I’d Like That

3 Easter Theatre  

4 Knights in Shining Karma

5 Frivolous Tonight

6 Green Man   

7 Your Dictionary   

8 Fruit Nut    

9 I Can’t Own Her    

10 Harvest Festival

11 The Last Balloon

 Album credits:

Andy Partridge  Guitar, Vocals

Colin Moulding  Bass, Vocals

Steve Sidwell  Trumpet

Mike Batt  Arranger

Guy Barker  Trumpet, Flugelhorn

Haydn Bendall  Keyboards, Engineer, Producer

Nick Davis  Keyboards, Mixing, Engineer, Producer

Simon Dawson  Mixing

David Gregory  Organ, Piano, Guitar, Mellotron

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Buried Treasures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply