Fly This For Me – Making Shadows
S-a-N PR

‘Making Shadows’ is the debut EP from Guildford based melodic punksters Fly This For Me. The band only formed at the tail end of 2011, but on the evidence of the four tracks on the EP they have got their chops together very quickly.

Citing Alexisonfire as their main influence gives a good idea of the music they create, pop punk with catchy melodies and hook filled choruses. The two stand out tracks are ‘She Said’ which the band have made a video for as part of the RedBull Bedroom Jam competition and the title track ‘Making Shadows’ which is a prime slice of pop punk.

A good first effort then and with a summer tour coming up Fly This For Me look to be on an upward spiral.

David Wilson

Bury The Hatchet – …It Was Never Enough
S-a-N PR

Introduced on their biog as ‘Kent Crushers’ and with a name like Bury The Hatchet, I wasn’t expecting AOR balladry. Just as well really as what I did get is brutally heavy riffs, thunderous drumming and punishing basslines all overlaid by vocals not heard since the rack was phased out as a form of torture.
The five tracks on the EP beat you around the head with an uncompromising hardcore delivery, it is however, delivered with a lot of style by a band who can carry off the heavy riffage with ease.
After a short, piano led intro track, the band launch into ‘But We Still Keep Moving’ which has one of the heaviest opening riffs committed to disc, it is worth searching out just to catch the opening minute of this track although the rest doesn’t exactly dip either. The other three tracks are more of the same, melodic metalcore that would have most people running for cover

Bury The Hatchet are uncompromising in their delivery and like their name suggests, listening to this EP is akin to receiving an axe blow to the skull…but in a good way !

David Wilson

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 30 August 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 8 September 2020.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 14 September (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 PERFECT PLAN Time For A Miracle (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 OVERLAND Scandalous (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 ANNIE DRESSNER Coffee At The Corner Bar (indie)

Power Plays w/c 14 September (Mon-Fri)

GALLOWS CIRCUS Medicine Man (indie)
ROY ZIV Currents (indie)
NOVATINES Honey (indie)
KILFEATHER Never Stop (indie)
VANILLA FUDGE Immigrant Song (Golden Robot Records)
BROKEN MACHINE Sweet Mary Jane (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply