The Bermondsey Joyriders – Noise and Revolution

Cadiz Music 2012

The Bermondsey Joyriders are made up of former Chelsea members Garry Lammin and Martin Stacey- on guitar/vocals and bass respectively, and former Johnny Thunders’ Oddballs drummer Chris Musto.

The band’s second album “Noise and Revolution” is a 21 track concept album, although to be fair, 10 of these are the narration holding the story together. The narrative itself is spoken by MC5’s John Sinclair, in a soft American drawl that contrasts nicely against the raw punk feel of the rest of the album.

The first musical track “Society is Rapidly Changing” is an obvious tale of how London, and England in general, is changing. “1977” is a nod back to the band’s past, “London Bridge” has a moody feel to it, we also have an ode to drinking tea in “Proper English”, and the highlights of the album are rounded off by “Shaking Leaves” and the Stones like air of “Rock N Roll Demon”.

The album is classic punk, mixed with a hint of old rhythm and blues and has a healthy dose of good British humour to it. It may not set the charts alight but somehow you know that was never the intention.  “Noise and Revolution” is set to be released as a limited edition CD and also on vinyl and, of course, digitally.


Nikk Gunns

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply