Frontiers 2012

These Norwegians formed way back in 2000 as a covers band interpreting Symphony X, Dream Theater and the like. Debut album “The 1st Chapter” was released in 2005 with follow up “Isolate” seeing the light of day in 2007. Now in 2012, Circus Maximus return with their third album of highly complex progressive metal a la Dream Theater.

The band consists of Mike Eriksen on vocals, Mats Haugen on guitar, his brother Truls Haugen on drums, Glen Cato Møllen on bass and Lasse Finbråten on keys. They are all high technical musicians and combine well to produce some of the most memorable complex tunes this side of Dream Theater. The production is superb with each instrument having room to breathe – nothing gets buried which is always a risk with this style of music. Special mention must be made of the wonderful vocals of Mike Eriksen – wonderful melodic style with no touch of that Scandinavian twang that is so common elsewhere in the genre.

I’m not going to single out any particular song as they are all complex numbers with so many twist and turns that you may feel a bit dizzy and need to lie down in a dark room for the next spin…If pushed however the final epic “The Last Goodbye” gets my vote with its memorable “I will always love you” chorus.

Pretty naff cover by the way…

A definite grower which takes several plays to get to the bottom of…take the time with this challenging listen and you will be rewarded.


Phil Berisford

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply