Bruce Foxton (From The Jam) new single & album

New album ‘Back In The Room’ released on 1st October 2012
New single ‘Number Six’ released on 23rd September 2012
On Basstone Records /

Bruce Foxton (The Jam/From The Jam/Stiff Little Fingers) returns with his first new solo album in nearly thirty years. Joining Bruce on the album are Russell Hastings and Big Country’s Mark Brzezicki, both of whom are also members of From The Jam. The album boasts a very special guest on three songs in Paul Weller, who had Bruce as a guest on his 2010 album ‘Wake Up the Nation’ and at a show at the Royal Albert Hall in the same year. Other guest musicians include Steve Cropper (Booker T & the MG’s/The Blues Brothers) and Spandau Ballet’s Steve Norman.

Commenting on working again with Paul Weller and having Steve Cropper guesting Bruce said: “It was such a pleasure to work and hang out with Paul again. What an honour to have both Paul and Steve play on the album.”

The new album is being funded via PledgeMusic, where fans can pre-order or ‘pledge’ not only for a signed copy of the album but for a range of never-before seen items and experiences. These include a VIP pass to an exclusive album launch party and a round of golf with Bruce and Russell Hastings!

Malcolm Dunbar, managing director of PledgeMusic said: “As well as being a key member of legendary band The Jam, Bruce has forged a very strong solo career over the years and this new campaign is a great way for him to connect with his fans and a very effective way for him to get his fantastic new album out into the market.” Bruce added: “This is such a good way for me to work closely with all the people who support my music and to make them a real part of the whole creative process.”

The first single, ‘Number Six’, is a breezy pop song that was “written from the heart about selling a home that one of us had lived in for a number of years, a much-loved home that held so many memories” explains Russell. “Paul Weller features strongly on this song playing great piano to the catchy melody right through the song.”

The classic Jam sound is alive and well on ‘Find My Way Home’ and ‘Coming On Strong’. But there is more to Bruce’s solo work with a rock ‘n’ roll beat and sax driving along ‘The Gaffa’. Steve Cropper adds his distinctive guitar to ‘Don’t Waste My Time’ to create a slice of Motown via Woking. ‘Senses Of Summer’ will surprise and delight fans in equal measure combining a folky air with a pinch of 60’s psychedelia.  Russell adds: “We loved recording this song from the early stages of kicking it around at Black Barn studios. It’s about what summer means to us as individuals, and that can all be so different depending on childhood experiences. It’s a pretty song with such a powerful chorus. We used various instruments to create that summer vibe.”

From The Jam are on tour throughout the autumn including a London date at KOKO on October 5th 2012.

A percentage of the proceeds from the PledgeMusic campaign will be donated to the Shooting Stars CHASE charity, to help them continue their valuable work supporting families in west London, Surrey and West Sussex, caring for local families with a child or teenager with a life-limiting condition. See for more details.

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 26 July.. In the first hour David pays tribute to the blues/rock guitarist Peter Green.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 LIONVILLE Magic Is Alive (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 MAD MAX Stormchild Rising (SPV)
14:00-16:00 MARY COUGHLAN Life Stories (2020)

Power Plays w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

SOUTH OF SALEM Cold Day In Hell (indie)
BLACK LESION Sins (indie)
CAROLINE JONES All Of The Boys (Social Family Records)
BLACK SUN Resist (Rockshot Records)
THE JAILBIRDS Dull My Brain (Golden Robot Records)
FROM ASHES TO NEW Scars That I’m Hiding (Better Noise Records)
THE GEORGIA THUNDERBOLTS Spirit Of A Workin’ Man (Mascot)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in Album News, Gigs and Tour News, NEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply