LYNYRD SKYNYRD – Last Of A Dyin’ Breed

Loud & Proud/Roadrunner




Lynyrd Skynyrd are as the album title suggests the last of a dying breed of southern rock bands. There is still Molly Hatchett and Blackfoot are supposedly carrying on with a young line-up hand picked by Blackfoot founder Ricky Medlocke (a key driver in Skynyrd’s revival since he joined the band) and some newer bands, but Lynyrd Skynyrd have always been the most recognizable name in southern rock and the biggest selling. This album sees John 5 again involved in production and ‘additional guitar’ plus it marks the recording debut of bassist Johnny Colt (The Black Crowes/Train).

The new album has the classic Skynyrd sound and a lot of reflection in the lyrics, none more so than the ballad ‘Ready To Fly’, a beautiful song where her mother tells her son she is ready to join her husband in the afterlife. The piano playing on here is worthy of the late Billy Powell.  The title track sees Johnny Van Zant give a nod to his brother Ronnie and on ‘Start Livin’ Life Again’ we have a nice positive vibe.

‘Nothing Comes Easy’ is a typical Skynyrd song where the working man is struggling even more in the current economic climate. A perfect song for their US fan base to relate too and along with the title track, the song I could see most likely to make their set list. ‘Mississippi Blood’ has the guitar duels and the bonus of Ricky Medlocke joining in on vocals.

If this does prove to be their swansong its a fine way to end but I think based on the strength of the songs on here and as long as the Van Zant/Rossington/Medlocke axis remains I can see at least another album from the band. Until then crank it up and enjoy!

Jason Ritchie

On 16 December, David Randall presented a two hour special on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio reflecting the reviewer and popular choices for “Best of 2018″

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 7 January 2019

We feature a selection of breakthrough artists in 2018 as selected by GRTR! reviewers, readers and listeners

Featured Albums w/c 7 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 CARE OF NIGHT Love Equals War (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 COME TASTE THE BAND Reignition (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 MICHAEL ARMSTRONG #LookingForTheWorld (indie)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri, 18:00-19:00)
ELEKTRADRIVE Living 4 (2008)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply