If You Like Led Zeppelin… by Dave Thompson

If You Like Led Zeppelin… by Dave Thompson

Backbeat Books www.backbeatbooks.com

Another in the series of ‘If You Like…’ which takes a big name band and then suggests other music, books and films you may like based on the artist concerned. The good this about these books is they delve backwards to look at the influences on the artist in question sound and then forwards to see what bands they have in turn influenced. You also get some fascinating potted guides to contemporaries of the band, in Led Zepellin’s case a look at Roy Harper (who famously had a Led Zep song dedicated to him) and Fairport Convention. There is a chapter on Jimmy Page’s vast array of 60’s sessions (including Tom Jones), many in the company of the late Big Jim Sullivan. The influences on Led Zep were the bluesman of the 1920’s and 30’s and the author picks out a few gems to hear. The author’s style is lightly humorous and he covers most bases, although like any book like this it is one person’s opinion on an artist’s music and may miss, or even dismiss, some music that a fan of a particular artist would argue should be included.

There are lists of recommended Led Zep covers (although no Dredd Zeppelin sadly) and live footage plus quick reviews of the many Led Zep biographies out there. But the one read many fans are waiting for is an autobiography from any of the surviving members.

Good read for Led Zep fans but I do feel a lot of this could be done online or as an app as then you can add links etc. to make it really interactive.

Jason Ritchie




 

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 24 January, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22


David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections


Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 ART OF ILLUSION X Marks The Spot (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE DEAD DAISIES Holy Ground (SPV)
14:00-16:00 TED & MAJELLA Divine Timing (indie)

Power Plays w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

THE WEDDING PRESENT We Should Be Together (Scopitones)
MIDNITE CITY Crawlin’ In The Dirt (Roulette Media)
JOSEPH WILLIAMS Never Saw You Coming (Mascot)
ALEX JAMES BRIERLEY Go With The Flow (indie)
THE UNDERCLASS The One (indie)
MASON HILL DNA (7Hz Recordings)



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in All Posts, BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply