If You Like Led Zeppelin… by Dave Thompson

If You Like Led Zeppelin… by Dave Thompson

Backbeat Books www.backbeatbooks.com

Another in the series of ‘If You Like…’ which takes a big name band and then suggests other music, books and films you may like based on the artist concerned. The good this about these books is they delve backwards to look at the influences on the artist in question sound and then forwards to see what bands they have in turn influenced. You also get some fascinating potted guides to contemporaries of the band, in Led Zepellin’s case a look at Roy Harper (who famously had a Led Zep song dedicated to him) and Fairport Convention. There is a chapter on Jimmy Page’s vast array of 60’s sessions (including Tom Jones), many in the company of the late Big Jim Sullivan. The influences on Led Zep were the bluesman of the 1920’s and 30’s and the author picks out a few gems to hear. The author’s style is lightly humorous and he covers most bases, although like any book like this it is one person’s opinion on an artist’s music and may miss, or even dismiss, some music that a fan of a particular artist would argue should be included.

There are lists of recommended Led Zep covers (although no Dredd Zeppelin sadly) and live footage plus quick reviews of the many Led Zep biographies out there. But the one read many fans are waiting for is an autobiography from any of the surviving members.

Good read for Led Zep fans but I do feel a lot of this could be done online or as an app as then you can add links etc. to make it really interactive.

Jason Ritchie



On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)



Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply