IMMENSION – Immension EP

Self Release (Release Date – 7th Jan 2013)

This will be the debut EP from Sheffield metallers Immension. The band that immediately spring to mind when listening to the opening track, ‘Shadows Of Yourself’, are Trivium. The band have the same melodic thrash metal riffs coupled with decent vocals which makes for a listenable package. Second track ‘Lost And Forgotten’ is heavier but still retains the melodic element.

There is little new here, the band though are talented enough to have produced a competent EP which for a debut is a solid starting point.


David Wilson

SHEEPY – Another Day EP

Blang Records (Release Date – 3rd Dec 2012)

Liverpool’s Sheepy produce Kinks tinged pop with distorted guitars and a sunny sound, feel good music to put a smile on your face. The two tracks featured on the EP are both evidence that Sheepy can write a good song and are ones to watch for the future.


David Wilson

FIGHT THE DICE – Bad Decisions

Self Release (Release date – 12th Nov 2012)

Fight The Dice look like they have just stepped out of school, but they have been gigging for the last 12 months and this single shows a lot of promise. Melodic pop rock is the fare on offer and although the disc only contains one track it is rather good. The band are currently recording their debut album and it will be interesting to see if they can maintain the quality for the full length release.


David Wilson

BLEAK FALLS – Another Rainy Day

Self Release (Release Date – 10th Dec 2012)

Bleak by name, bleak by nature. This debut EP release by Bleak Falls is no barrel of laughs, this is serious melodic hardcore without a hint of a smile. There are 6 tracks featured here and they are all fairly basic, hardcore by numbers tracks. Shouty vocals, some decent Sabbath-like riffs and sledgehammer drumming are all on display, but it is a bit of an ordeal to sit through. Not one to play when you are feeling a bit blue.


David Wilson


Self Release (Release Date – 25th Nov 2012)

The Hidden Revolution released their debut EP last year which gained a lot of airplay and won EP of the year from Rainy Skies magazine. This latest release is more indie pop-rock and contains some well written tracks the best being the title track ‘Useless Noises’. The last couple of tracks veer into Radiohead territory and are a bit more downbeat but overall this EP should continue on where last year’s EP left off.


David Wilson

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Quick Plays, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply