Escape Music





UK five piece whose debut album ‘Vice’ has a classic metal sound with an 80′s leaning and is not your normal fare of Escape Music. This is a strange album as the first four songs are not that great to be honest and hardly leap out at the listener, although vocalist Kez Taylor has a powerful voice that pulls these so-so tunes through with ‘Battle Cry’ the pick of the bunch. When you get to ‘Twisting The Knife’ though the band hit their stride and then some. This song sounds like Dokkenin their prime, as does ‘The Edge Of Falling’ that has a hook so big you could land a whale with it. Superb riffing and soloing from guitarists AD and Steve Petty really ups the ante on this song.

Jim Lea of Slade fame does the string arrangement on ‘Cold Silence’ which is one of those classic power ballads. Don’t be fooled by the mellow string filled start as the guitars and power house rhythm soon kick in. ‘We Came To Rock’ is a standard metal anthem which sounds a little like Dio.

A strong debut once you get past the first four songs. If this band can land a few support slots and festivals they will easily build their following as they have the songs to impress.


Jason Ritchie



Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply