ARCADE PARADE – Cave Of Swimmers

Arcade Parade: a 4-piece Indie/Rock band from Shropshire. Formed in 2010, they have already played at many well-known venues in the Midlands – not bad for a band aged between 14 and 17.

Their debut single ‘Cave of Swimmers’ is a wonderful little number that boasts amazing talent both musically and vocally. Containing some nice guitar and a catchy chorus,
it’s definately not one to miss. Although essentially only a 3 minute track, give or take, it is clear to see that this band has great potential. With their EP to be released
‘early 2013′ they are definately a band to look at for this year. Arcade Parade are a great example of fresh, young talent.

I would recommend Arcade Parade to listeners of Sleeping With Sirens and You Me At Six.


Jasmine Ritchie

JOHN WHEELER – Walk Between the Raindrops

John Wheeler’s debut album ‘Un-American Gothic’ is just released and this is the lead single of it. John Wheeler is better known as a member of those bluegrass rockers Hayseed Dixie. His solo album owes more to the Hooters and in the case of this single a breezy pop tune, driven along by a nifty snare beat, fiddle and a short but sweet guitar solo.

Perfect choice for daytime radio airplay and the album is well worth a listen.


Jason Ritchie

ROUGH CUT ‘Rollin’ Thunder’ (EP) Cargo Records

“Rollin’ Thunder” is the debut EP from Rough Cut. The UK based four piece was formed just over a year ago and you can hear various NWOBHM influences alongside the likes of Thin Lizzy, and this is no more evident than on opening track “Run Home”.

However, whilst the band is musically strong they are let down to some extent by the vocals of Jack Simkin, which is unfortunate as this is the main focal point that an audience will be drawn to. With a steady run of gigs already under their belts – including support slots with Voodoo Six, Crashdiet and Mr. Big, the band will get the experience that will help them hone their skills further.

The more laid back “Guardian Angel” and the aforementioned “Run Home” are the winners here.


Nikk Gunns

SHOWBIZHEROES ’21′ (Released March 4th)

This is the band’s fourth single of their upcoming debut album ‘Tales From Behind The Curtain’. The two songs on here are fun filled, indie guitar anthems complete with chiming guitars and instant choruses. Their debut album will certainly be worth a listen based on these two fine songs.


Jason Ritchie

COMMON TONGUES ‘Solitary Thinker’ (Released 25th February)

Hailing from Brighton this band formed back in 2010. This new single will be also be on an EP when it is released in April. I am not overly taken by this song I am afraid despite a fair few spins. The press release cites bands like Radiohead and Brian Wilson as their inspiration but it is the Waterboys that come to my mind. Not a bad song just nothing really ‘wow’.


Jason Ritchie

RAGDOLL ‘Here Today’ (EP) Beautiful Disaster Records

New EP “Here Today”, from Australian trio Ragdoll, could be my find of the year so far. There has been a steady release of great rock music from Australia over the past couple of years and Ragdoll will no doubt draw comparisons with fellow trio Tracer- however, for me, these guys win hands down.

Opening track “Here Today” packs a sonic punch and is a great introduction to the band.  “Tell Me” is more of a big and bassy affair, almost in a Black Stone Cherry way.  “Could It Be Love” is like a cross between Van Halen (Sammy era) and Mr Big- a good old ballad that would appeal to a cross section of music fans.

Whilst the whole EP is radio friendly, it is “Heaven Above” that falls into this category most with Ryan Rafferty’s vocals easily competing with virtually anything else out there. Final track “Overnight Sensation” has a Deep Purple feel to it musically whilst the vocals are more Van Halen (Dave era), with a show stopping guitar break from Leon Todd.

The band is shortly to embark on their second US tour, having previously played alongside the likes of Chickenfoot, Slash and The Darkness. It’s hard to believe that the band has not been snapped up by a major label yet as every track on this EP could be released independently as a single.


Nikk Gunns

DALLAS ‘Over The Edge’ (EP) D-Day Records

San Francisco based Dallas bring us debut EP “Over The Edge”. This 5 track EP is polished AOR that has already found MTV on its side when they featured the track “Bring The Light” on their “MTV Underemployed” show.

With every track written and produced by vocalist/guitarist Bryan Dallas, the EP reminds me at times of H.E.A.T and even Def Leppard- track “Open Your Heart” has that almost processed feel that you would associate with the band. The lighter feel of the band is counterbalanced by the track “The Devil Is Rock n’ Roll” which has a heavier, almost 70’s glam feel to it at times.

Dallas is joined by band members Zac Curtis on drums and bassist/keyboardist Mat Feifert and together they are currently working on a full length debut album.

Nikk Gunns

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply