Album Review: DROWNING POOL – Resilience

Eleven Seven Music (Release date – 09.04.13)

It’s hard to think of a more resilient band than Drowning Pool. They have overcome tragedy and adversity over the course of their career that would had seen a lesser band fall by the wayside. The band though have continually focused on their music and this album finds a band that have once again regrouped and concentrated on the job in hand.

This is the first album to feature the band’s latest vocalist, Jasen Moreno, who was drafted in to replace Ryan McCombs who left the band to rejoin Soil and right from the opening track ‘Anytime, Anywhere’ it is clear that the band have found the right man. It is a heavy opener with a rock solid bassline provided by Stevie Benton and Mike Luce. ‘Die For Nothing is next up which again follows in the same vein and is a well crafted number with the traditional Drowning Pool sound but given a modern twist.

The album contains 13 tracks in all and all find the guys in fighting spirit, none more so than ‘One Finger And A Fist’ which sounds like the soundtrack to a bar brawl. This is not an ‘easy listening’ album, all tracks have an angry and confrontational edge to them that grab you by the scruff of the neck and make you rock like a demon.

Other top tracks are ‘Broken Again’ and ‘Bleed With You’ which again are full throttle rockers driven along by the great guitar work of CJ Pierce. The standout track though is ‘In Memory Of…’ which was written to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the death of the band’s original vocalist Dave Williams. The track is a heartfelt song which is a fitting memorial to a lost friend.

Drowning Pool have once again proved that they are a band who have the determination and drive to succeed and with this release they have laid the foundations for further success. As I say, this is an album with attitude, better to track it down before it finds you!


David Wilson

Drowning Pool on tour with Fozzy (April 2013)

11 Southampton, UK – The Cellar
12 Plymouth, UK – White Rabbit
13 Brighton, UK – Concorde 2
14 Norwich, UK – Waterfront
16 Nottingham, UK – Rescue Rooms
17 Rugby, UK – The Vault
18 Stoke, UK – Underground
19 York, UK – Fibbers
20 Manchester, UK – NQ Live
21 Wrexham, UK – Central Station
23 Bristol, UK – The Fleece
24 London, UK – Electric Ballroom

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Album Review: DROWNING POOL – Resilience

  1. Pingback: Interview: DROWNING POOL - Get Ready to ROCK! Reviews | Interviews | Blog

Leave a Reply