Album review: MAT SINNER – Back To The Bullet

Re-issue AFM Records

Mat Sinner released this long lost solo album back in 1990 in between releases from his own band Sinner and long before the formation of his current band, Primal Fear. AFM have seen fit to re-release Back to the Bullet and have added a single bonus track She’s Got the Look as an incentive.

Mat, on bass and vocals, was joined by Sinner guitarist Tom Naumann, current Primal Fear guitarist Alex Beyrodt, Tommy Geiger on keyboards and Tommy Resch on drums in the recording of Back to the Bullet.

The title track and Tear Down The Wall kick things off in an eighties Judas Priest-like fashion (minus Rob Halford’s vocals of course). Every Second Counts  has awful verses and an almost Motley Crue chorus and the token ballad Call My Name just starts at such a low volume that it sounds like a demo – once it gets going though it turns into a typical Scorpions like number.

The rest of the album continues in a similar fashion with Mat mixing up the Judas Priest, Scorpions, Saxon, Dokken and Motley Crue influences – there are a lot of forgettable verses hooked up with highly memorable sing-along choruses. The sole cover is a spirited run through The Osmonds Crazy Horses and bonus track She’s Got the Look (not a Roxette cover) fits in nicely with the vibe of the other tunes.

This AFM re-release that is only realistically only going to be purchased by Sinner and Primal Fear fans.

An album of its time…but an enjoyable one nonetheless.  ***

Phil Berisford

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

THE FARGO RAILROAD COMPANY Something In The Water (indie)
THE DARK ELEMENT If I Had A Heart (Frontiers)
LIBERTY LIES A Thousand People (indie)
DIRTY SHIRLEY Here Comes The King (Frontiers)
CARRY THE CROWN Runaway (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 WORK OF ART Exhibits (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SIGN X Like A Fire (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 JACK BROADBENT Moonshine Blue (Creature Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply