Album review: OLIVA – Raise the Curtain

AFM Records

Oliva is of course Jon Oliva of Jon Oliva’s Pain, Savatage and Trans Siberian-Orchestra (TSO) fame and this is his solo album. It differs from his JO Pain albums in that he handles most of the instruments himself, although JO Pain drummer Christopher Kinder plays on this album and Howard Helm does the guitar solos.

His co-partner on the album is Dan Fasciano and between them they create a whole host of musical treats. This album also marks a closing of a musical chapter as it features the final song ideas from his late brother Criss Oliva.

There are hints of Kansas, on the pomp rock title track, TSO and Savatage on the heavier moments such as ‘Soul Chaser’ and ‘Big Brother’. Then the horns section is whipped out for the jazzy feel added to ‘Ten Years’ and ‘Father Time’ has a big enough hook to land a whale. Another facet of Jon Oliva’s work is the piano led songs and ‘Soldier’ must rank as one of his best.

The bonus song ‘The Truth’ on the digipack is well worth hearing, one of those acoustic based heartfelt songs that Jon Oliva does so well.

Much more accessible than the Jon Oliva Pain albums and it owes more to Broadway and the TSO in sound. Highly recommended for fans of his music and it should draw in some new fans as there is plenty on this album to suit the most varied rock and metal palate. He follows his musical muse on this album and is not constrained by the expected musical direction of his other bands.


Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk (Sunday 27 June )

Check out full video

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 4 July 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 6 July 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 12 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 DENNIS DeYOUNG 26 East Volume 2 (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 HARDLINE Heart, Mind And Soul (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DAVID CROSBY For Free (BMG)

Power Plays w/c 11 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

PLANET FATALE Talking To Myself (indie)
CATALYSTS Sylvia (indie)
JESS KEMP Don’t You Cry (indie
KAASIN Hidden (indie)
VEGA Sooner Or Later (Frontiers)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply