Album review: THE SWEET – Live at the Marquee 1986

Angel Air (released 4th August)

Recorded back in 1986 this version of the Sweet featured original members Andy Scott (guitars/vocals) and Mick Tucker (drums), joined by Mal McNulty (bass), Paul Mario Day (vocals) and Phil Lanzon (keyboards).

The recording has been released previously, although that version had four new studio recordings and this version has two added live songs in place of these.

The setlist is a suitably rocking one with a storming version of ‘Action’ opening the proceedings. It’s great to hear the Sweet’s heavier songs dominate the set from ‘AC/DC’ (added here as one of two bonus songs along with ‘Burn On The Flame’) and ‘No You Don’t’ (later covered by Crown Of Thorns).

The extended ‘Love Is Like Oxygen’ is a treat and the band include a snatch of ELP’s take on ‘Fanfare for the Common Man’. In fact the keyboards take a prominent role throughout much of the set and there is the obligatory drum solo. The 70’s glam hits are represented by ‘Ballroom Blitz’ and a beefed up ‘Fox On The Run’. Andy Scott’s guitar playing is top notch as you’d expect and in Paul Mario Day they had a singer more suited the rock side of the Sweet.

Andy Scott still tours with a revised line-up of the Sweet, although Mick Tucker sadly passed away back in 2002. Phil Lanzon went on the join Uriah Heep shortly after this gig was recorded and remains in Uriah Heep to this day. Mal McNulty joined Slade as their vocalist, a position he maintained for many years although he has recently left the band. Paul Mario Day is now involved in making music videos.

Highly recommended for fans of the band as it shows the Sweet at their hard rocking best.


Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply