Book review: If You Like The Ramones… by Peter Aaron

Backbeat Books www.backbeatbooks.com

The latest in this excellent series of ‘If You Like…’ books and this time it is US punk meets rock ‘n’ roll legends the Ramones. This one is slightly different as the author Peter Aaron not only includes the band musical influences and those they influenced, he also adds in the TV shows, comics and films that would appeal to fans of the band. Talking the TV shows there are the ones you’d expect like ‘South Park’ and ‘The Simpsons’, plus others slightly more surprising like ‘I Love Lucy’!

The influences start with the original rock ‘n’ rollers including the many Phil Spector produced girl groups and there is a quick fire run through UK punk bands, including recommending a key album to have by each artist. As for the legacy of the Ramones where do you start? There are so many including Green Day, the Pixies and Nirvana plus of course Motorhead are mentioned. Both bands have mutual respect for each other and Lemmy penned the fast and furious ‘R.A.M.O.N.E.S.’ in tribute to the band.

There is enough audio and visual recommendations to keep fans of the Ramones busy for many weeks and months. There are also a list of twenty recommended reads that cover the Ramones and more general books on the UK and US punk and New Wave scenes.

By far the most readable and enjoyable book in the series so far and I am not even a big Ramones fan!

Review by Jason Ritchie




 

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 24 January, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22


David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections


Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Our Glass House (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SERGEANT STEEL Truck Tales (Boyz Tyme Records)
14:00-16:00 DAN REED Liftoff (Zero Entertainment)

Power Plays w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BLACK SPIDERS – Good Times (Dark Riders Records/Cargo Records)
GRAVITY MACHINE Standing Stones (Zyse Records)
EMPIIRES Love Or Hate (TLG Entertainment/INgrooves)
RAY FENWICK Tam Tam (Singsong Music)
DEAD REYNOLDS Voices (The Fort)
LAYLA ZOE Don’t Wanna Help Anyone (indie)



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in All Posts, BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply