Album review: ARMORY – Empyrean Realms

Armory - Empyrean Dreams




Metavania Music (Release date – out now)

This album was actually released on the 12th of November 2013 and has only just come to my attention, it has been my loss it would seem!  Armory formed back in 2001 and hail from Townsend, Massachusetts. This is the band’s second album and it is a power metal  tour de force.

The six piece have been honing their skills over the past twelve years and have produced an album that should grace any power metal fan’s collection. The obvious influences are the likes of Helloween and Gamma Ray but the band also add a bit of a prog metal twist to keep things interesting. The playing is fast and furious and the vocal delivery of Adam Kurland is as majestic as you would hope for in power metal circles.

From the opening track ‘Eternal Mind’ through to the epic ‘Quest For The Fleece’ which rounds things off each track is a joy. The dual guitar work of Joe Kurland and Chad Fisher is the driving force behind each track with lightening licks and solid riffs the guys impress throughout.

The rhythm section of Thomas Preziosi on bass and Joe Kurland again, this time acting as stand in drummer for the recording sessions, are more than capable of providing the thunderous backing and complex time changes which abound. The last piece of the puzzle is Peter Rutcho on keyboards who adds the prog element to the proceedings.

It is difficult to pick a standout track here but credit must be given to ‘ Beyond The Horizon’ which contains fantastic harmonies and a great chorus. Really though, if you pick any track you will be on to a winner. This is an album that is well worth searching out and one which could become a classic in power metal circles with the right exposure.

This is one huge sonic missile straight from the Armory!  ****

Review by David Wilson

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

COLLATERAL Mr Big Shot (Roulette Media Records)
BABY HUSBAND Stop Thinking About Tomorrow (indie)
OF ALLIES Off The Map (indie)
MARISA AND THE MOTHS – Slave (indie)
CATTLE AND CANE I Wish I Knew Jesus (Like I Do)
KING VOODOO Creep (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Big Blue World (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 REDLINE Gods & Monsters (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 WILDWOOD KIN (Silvertone/Sony)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply