Album review: PRIMAL FEAR – Delivering The Black

Primal Fear - Delivering The Black

Frontiers [Release date 24.01.14]

Another year…another Primal Fear album (it seems that way anyway)…and with Primal Fear you know exactly what to expect – Teutonic metal a la Judas Priest. It’s predictable but is that always bad – look at AC/DC!

Delivering The Black is the follow up to 2012’s underwhelming Unbreakable and it hits the ground with an almighty racket called King For a Day and from then on the pace rarely drops below metal…Rebel Faction, Alive and On Fire, Inseminoid

Exceptions to the rule are the epic gothic sounding When Death Comes Knocking and the token ballad Born With a Broken Heart featuring Liv Kristine from Leaves’ Eyes. The nine minute plus One Night in December deserves a special mention as well veering from quiet acoustic bits to magnificent guitar solos via orchestral interludes and various other places in between – it brings recent Kamelot to mind if anyone.

The playing from the stable line up of Mats Sinner, Alex Beyrodt, Magnus Karlsson and Randy Black cannot be faulted and of course there is only one Ralf Scheepers (unless you count Rob Halford!)

Cool cover artwork featuring the Primal Fear steel eagle of death cannot be faulted (still think the cover for the 2001 release Nuclear Fire looks like a flying helmet though…check it out).

More of the same then…but then would we have it (or even expect it) any other way. “Metal rules” \m/!  ****

Review by Phil Berisford

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply