Album review : DOG DAYS REVOLUTION – Overloaded





Turenki Records (Release date – out now)

Rock ‘n’ Roll and Finland have long gone hand in hand for some reason, maybe it’s the long dark nights? The latest addition to Finland’s rock heritage are Dog Days Revolution. Borrowing the odd riff from the Young brothers, they play a blues infused rock but get closer to Bonafide than AC/DC.

The album is an entertaining listen however with plenty to like and is possibly best summed up by the title of one of the tracks, ‘So Simple Is Rock ‘n’ Roll’. There is a party atmosphere to the album with a soundtrack of straight forward rocking tracks, don’t expect any musical surprises here and you won’t be disappointed.

Top track for me is a cover of the Sweet’s ‘Fox On The Run’ which the guys play fairly straight but the track sounds fresh and vibrant. The title track ‘Qverloaded’ is another good number which has a big hook in the chorus that will have you singing along. The ballad of the album, ‘Let Me In’, is also worth a mention more for the slightly dubious lyrics, which I think have lost something in translation, than anything else. It is a good track though. In fact the lyrics don’t quite work a lot of the time but as their English is a damn sight better than my Finnish I can hardly take issue too strongly.

This may not be the most original album you will ever hear, it is however a good rocking album that does exactly what it says on the tin.


Review by Dave Wilson

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply