Album review: THE SWEET – Sweetlife

Angel Air [Released 07.04.13]

Continuing the excellent series of latter day Sweet re-issues Angel Air now present the band’s 2002 album ‘Sweetlife’. The line-up then featured sole original member Andy Scott joined by drummer Bruce Bisland (who is still in the band to this day), vocalist/bassist Jeff Brown  and keyboards player Steve Grant, who also helped in writing and production.

You can know if it has the Sweet name on it it will be good and this is album has some real gems. Pick of the bunch has to be ‘Leap Of Faith’, a big ballad with those trademark high pitched harmonies the band does so well. The title track harks back to the ‘Love Is Like Oxygen’ album in feel and sound, whilst ‘Do It All Over Again’ was a hit in Germany and you can see why, a glorious tune full of vocal harmonies and Andy Scott’s guitar solos.

‘Neon Psychedelia’ is not great and the final track ‘Sweetlife Overunderture’ throws in the proverbial musical kitchen sink with strings, percussion and synths.The sort of music that would make a good intro tape to their live show.

Another enjoyable Sweet album, successfully mixing their 70′s sound with a more melodic rock direction, making this album one for music fans who may think of the Sweet only as a glam rock band (and more fool them!). ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 September 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 22 September 2020.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 12 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 BROTHER FIRETRIBE Feel The Burn (Nuclear Blast)
12:00-13:00 BLUE OYSTER CULT The Symbol Remains (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 SHEMEKIA COPELAND Uncivil War (Alligator)

Power Plays w/c 12 October (Mon-Fri)

HELLZ We Want Rock (indie)
WHEN RIVERS MEET Battleground (indie)
UNCUT Family Blues (indie)
MIKE ROSS Don’t Say A Word (Taller Records)
CORY MARKS Blame It On The Double (indie)
MASON HILL Against The Wall (indie)
CATS IN SPACE Revolution (Harmony Factory)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply