Album review: KLOGR – Blacksnow

Klogr - Blacksnow

Zeta Factory (Release date – Out now)

Blacksnow is the second album release by Italian alt-rockers Klogr. Their first album, ‘Till You Decay’, was released back in 2011 and gained some good press. Since then the band have been touring extensively in Europe and the USA.

The album opens with ‘Zero Tolerance’ which was written in support of the sea wildlife organisation Sea Shepherd of which the band are active campaigners. Musically it is like being cast adrift on rough seas with waves of riffs crashing around and vocalist Rusty screaming to be heard above the heavy swell.

To continue the ocean analogy the album ebbs and flows through its 12 tracks from the full on metal of ‘Guilty and Proud’ to the calmer waters of ‘Ambergris’.  All tracks are well constructed and are reminiscent of Tool at their best. This is an album that reveals more with every listen. On first listen I did find it a bit repetitive but after a few spins the nuances of each track became evident as did the high calibre musicianship of the band.

Klogr may not be to all tastes but they have the talent to float to the top in their chosen genre and  this second album should launch them well on their way.


Review by David Wilson

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply