Album review: SUEDE – Royal Albert Hall, 24 March 2010

Edsel Records [12.05.14] CD/DVD

This is a rather special live recording on two counts, first it was one of the annual gigs at the Royal Albert Hall for the Teenage Cancer Trust and secondly Suede were asked to reform especially for this gig as a ‘one-off’.

However, such was the positive reaction to their gig on 24th March 2010 that decided to reform permanently (after calling it a day back in 2003) and they are still going strong now with a new album due next year. This set has been released previously as a limited edition back in 2011 and it now gets a wider release.

Even a casual fan like myself often forgets how many classic songs they produced in the 90′s. On disc one alone they run through the classics ‘She’, ‘Trash’, ‘Filmstar’ and ‘Animal Nitrate’ – all four making up the opening numbers of their set!

Vocalist and mainman Brett Anderson has lost none of his vocal power or charisma (as can be seen on the DVD in this set) and judging by his sleevenotes was truly humbled by the reception he and the band got. They can even play a B-side ‘Killing Of A Flashboy’ and it stands up to the rest of the better known songs in the set. Disc two has even more delights with the wonderfully titles ‘Metal Mickey’ and a personal favourite ‘Beautiful Ones’.

The set also includes the DVD recording of the show, making this a real ‘must have’ for those their as a momenta of the evening and their many fans who couldn’t make it to the gig.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, DVD REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply