Album review: POOBAH – U.S. Rock

Poobah - US Rock

Ripple Records [Release date 10.02.14]

This album was originally released back in 1976 during the peak of Poobah’s career and has now been lovingly re-mastered and reissued by Ripple Records. Poobah were formed by guitarist Jim Gustafson back in 1972 in Youngstown, Ohio  and U.S Rock was the band’s second of three albums which have become cult classics over the years.

This reissue package offers the original album supplemented by four bonus tracks to add something for the collector. Musically the band offer up classic 70’s rock bringing to mind Cream, Sabbath and even early Kiss on some tracks.

The main feature of the album is the guitar work and the unique vocals of Gustafson, I have a sneaking suspicion that a young Justin Hawkins from The Darkness may have been influenced by Jim’s falsetto style.

Whilst the vocals at times may be a bit much, the guitar work is never less than stunning. On songs like ‘Flesh Fantasies’ and ‘Let’s Rock’ Gustafson’s riffing is first rate, oh and if you don’t dance to ‘Let’s Rock’ then I would check for a pulse!

Stand out tracks for me though were the slower, psychedelic sounding ‘Right Out Of The Night’ and ‘Your Way, My Way’ which carry you away to a Californian beach circa the mid-seventies unsurprisingly. With some laid back and chilled out guitar work both these tracks are of their time but still have a certain magic even now.

The band toured with the likes of Canned Heat, Judas Priest and Alice Cooper at the time and had the credentials to make it into the upper leagues, but poor management and various setbacks meant that by the late 70’s, and after three albums, Poobah had called it a day.

This re-issue serves to show how good a band Poobah were and why they have gathered a cult following over the years. It’s worth buying just for the OTT vocal opening of ‘Watch Me’, it has to be heard to be believed!  ***1/2

Review by David Wilson

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply