Album review: BROTHER FIRETRIBE – Diamond In The Firepit

Spinefarm Records [Released 03.06.14]

Album number three from the excellent Brother Firetribe and they have kept us waiting as their last album was released back in 2008.

Vocalist Pekka Ansio Heino certainly has an amazing set of pipes on him and he fair belts it out on ‘For Better Or For Worse’, an immense anthem that will blow your curtains of their railings! You can see why this song was chosen as the lead single from the album. ‘Desperately’ is a synth drenched ballad, whilst ‘Love’s Not Enough’ is a glorious AOR romp and perfect as another single.

The synths/keys are high up in the mix, although guitarist Erno ‘Emppu’ Vuorinen won’t lie down without a fight and plays so impressive solos and riffs. ‘Hanging By A Thread’ is a good example with his Survivor approved guitar segueing into the keys. The song does remind me of one of those classic mid tempo Survivor tunes from the Jimi Jamison era. One other instant highlight is ‘Tired Of Dreaming’ a perfect mix of pomp keys, guitars and harmony vocals galore.

The band carry on their tradition of covering classic 80′s movie songs and this time we have ‘Winner Takes It All’, originally done by Sammy Hagar on ‘Over The Top’. It’s a good version but they will have to go a long way to beat their take on Cheap Trick’s ‘Mighty Wings’!

It’s a damn fine album, not quite reaching the heights of their first two albums but still streets ahead of most other bands who try to recapture those 80′s rock days and add a modern sheen. If you have their earlier albums you will snap this one up and enjoy it and if you’ve not sampled the delights of this band get a shift on you don’t know what you’re missing. Hopefully they won’t leave it so long next time between albums.


Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply