Album review: THE YOUNG FOLK – The Little Battle

The Young Folk - The Little Battle

Pixie Pace Records [Released 08.09.14]

Having witnessed an excellent gig by the band earlier this year in London I was looking forward to hearing their debut release. The band consists of Anthony Furey (vocals/guitar), Tony McCaughlin (bass/mandolin/vocals), Paul Butler (keyboards/vocals) and Karl Hand (drums/vocals).  Furey wrote all the songs bar one, ‘Letters’ which was written by Paul Butler.

With the current popularity of folk music, particularly that in the more alternative/popular end of things like Mumford & Sons, Fleet Foxes and Bellowhead, Young Folk fit right in. The light hearted song ‘Biscuits’ features one of the band’s collective strengths, their blissful harmonies.  Throughout the album these harmonies work so well.

‘Way Home’ has been released as a single and its instant chorus soon has the listener wanting to hear it again. ‘My Friends’ is a tale of lapsed friendships and is another song perfect for being picked as a single release. Interesting how the band mixes the traditional folk sound of fiddle and mandolin with piano and a pop sensibility on ‘Long Time Ago’. They can throw in a good foot stomper too, as ‘Remember When’ is one for the live environment and audience participation.

I do like the vocals of Anthony Furey, he has a good storyteller’s vocal that draws the listener into the song. Listen to ‘Letters’ and you are transported right into the character in the song’s lyric.

Based on this album the Young Folk have made an assured start to what will hopefully be a long career. The folk renaissance shows no sign of abating with a band like the Young Folk coming along, and long may that continue to be the case.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply