Album review: XTASY – Revolution

XTASY – Revolution

MelodicRock Records [Release date 13.10.14]

Andrew McNeice, the man behind, has tapped into the Spanish melodic scene for Xtasy and their debut album Revolution.

Xtasy were founded back in 2011 by guitarist Jorge and vocalist Silvia and they recorded several songs over the next 2 years with various guests from the Spanish scene. In December 2013 they became a proper band with the additional of Ángel (guitar), David (bass), Tutumba (drums) and Jakim (keyboards)…no surnames on the PR literature unfortunately…

To my ears most of the songs suffer from similar problems – the vocals are not clear in the mix and also heavily accented, the drumming is very basic and the songs are just not good enough.

There are a few exceptions however. Many Years build nicely from a slow opening and features some neat guitar playing. Final track Bye Bye is an atmospheric and emotive ballad featuring just vocals, piano and acoustic guitar. The other stand out track has to be How Much Love but then that’s because it’s a cover of the Vixen classic.

Erik Martensson, of Eclipse and W.E.T fame, mixed and mastered the album…well he probably tried his best but if the magic isn’t there in the songs to start with then there’s not a lot you can do…

Not sure about the artwork on this release either…looks more like a death metal release than melodic rock!

More quality control is needed on here to bring this to a level where you will actually dig this out in the future for repeated listening…as it is…one for the box in the attic unfortunately.  **

Review by Phil Berisford

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply