Album review: ADRENALINE MOB – Dearly Departed

Adrenaline Mob - Dearly Departed

Century Media [Released 02.02.15]

It’s that man Russell Allen again! We had the Allen/Lande album late last year, January he featured on the Force 10 album with Matt Sinner (although apparently that was recorded a couple of years before) and now he is back with Adrenaline Mob (plus he has a Symphony X album due later this year!).

This is a covers EP and acoustic versions of their two albums to date, although it is an album really as we have nine songs! They did a covers EP ‘Coverta’ back in 2013 and artists and most fans seem to like covers albums.

Great version of ‘Devil Goes Down To Georgia’ by the Charlie Daniels Band, which I was dubious about as the guitar playing of Mike Orlando replaced the frantic fiddle playing on the original. It works a treat though. The other top notch cover is Queen’s ‘Tie Your Mother Down’. This version fair shakes the dust from the rafters!

‘Gets You Through The Night’ is an unreleased track from the ‘Men Of Honor’ sessions. It is a no nonsense rocker and has a decent chorus, certainly worth releasing it. The acoustic versions allow Russell Allen’s voice to take centre stage, although Mike Orlando plays some mean acoustic guitar on ‘Angel Sky’ and the EP’s title track.

A stop gap until their next studio album and if you are a casual fan, certainly worth listening to the acoustic versions of their songs as Allen’s vocals really come to the fore. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply