Album review: U.D.O – Decadent

U.D.O. - Decadent

AFM Records [Release date 23.01.15]

Everyone’s favourite German growler, Udo Dirkschneider, is back with his new studio album “Decadent”. It doesn’t seem long since I was underwhelmed by his one paced “Steelhammer – Live From Moscow” album. So what does Decadent have to offer besides its very loud and slightly disturbing cover?

Udo keeps a stable line-up for this release with long-time bassist Fitty Wienhold joined again by guitarists Kasperi Heikkinen and Andrey Smirov together with drummer Francesco Jovino.

To be honest you know what to expect from U.D.O. – Teutonic metal, sub-Judas Priest riffing and Udo’s unique vocals – so let’s skip to the tracks that offer something a little different.

Title track Decadent has some Prodigy-like drum beats thrown into the mix together with a weird spoken vocal section…enough variation to make this an interesting track.

Mystery is definitely my favourite track on display…with its creepy intro complete with evil clown laugh, Udo’s impression of an evil Lemmy on the verses works well before turning into a high pitched screech on the bridge and then sung chorus. The featured solo is just plain odd as well.

Pain is almost melodic rock with its catchy refrain of “how much pain can we take…” Secrets In Paradise can only be described as a ballad…well it starts out that way with acoustic guitar and Udo only before drums and electric guitars come crashing in.

Album closer Words In Flame is an epic monster of a track which builds slowly from an acoustic intro. The use of   orchestration throughout is both surprising and highly effective.

Really wasn’t expecting to like this but it’s actually better than expected. Udo has got just enough variation here to keep things fairly interesting. Still prefer Russian Roulette though…  ***

Review by Phil Berisford

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply