Album review: MOB RULES – Timekeeper – 20th Anniversary Box Set





Steamhammer/ SPV (Release date 13.10.14)

German power metallers Mob Rules have been treading the boards for the last 20 years and in celebration of that they released this limited edition box set. The box set is a must for fans of the band but it also acts as a great introduction to Mob Rules for any newcomers.

The box set contains three CD’s and a live DVD which gives you plenty of music to choose from. The first CD is a straight forward ‘greatest hits’ package with 15 of the best from Mob Rules. CD 2 is entitled ‘Mob Rules and Friends’ which contains re recordings of various Mob Rules songs and a couple of cover versions with guest artists on each track like Udo Dirkschinder from U.D.O and Michael Ehre from Gamma Ray amongst others. There is also a couple of new tracks on the CD to entice the long time fans.

The third CD is a single version of the track ‘My Kingdom Come’ whilst the live DVD, ‘Mob Rules Over America’, contains the band’s live set from the 2011 Progpower USA show in Atlanta. The DVD also contains various official videos and a few ‘bootleg’ live recordings from throughout their career. The box set also contains a booklet with plenty of pictures and info and there is also a sticker in case you forget who you are listening to.

I was unfamiliar with Mob Rules prior to this box set and as I say it has been a good introduction to a band with a lot of talent and great musicianship. Here’s to the next 20 years of power prog metal!


Review by David Wilson

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply