The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve


www. facebook.com/thebarnummeserve [Released 06.04.15]

Three piece from Nottingham consisting of Leon Wiley (vocals/paino), Paul Moss Pearce (drums) and Dylan Griffiths (bass), the PR blurb name checks Nine Inch Nails, Arcade Fire and Soundgarden as musical reference points. No pressure there then lads eh?

From the start on ‘War Games’ the music has that sweeping, epic feel aided by the strings that are present throughout the album. The vocals of Leon Wiley go from mellow and melodic through to full on top of your lungs almost screaming, best shown on ‘Without Numbers’. The drums /percussion also stand out with some interesting drum patterns on ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ and ‘After The Fire’.

A debut that shows a band with great promise and big, cinematic ideas. Certainly worth your time investigating further. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

KINGNALDO – Memorandum

www.kingnaldo.net [Released 26.09.14]

Puerto Rican musician Kingnaldo has played live supporting Yngwie Malmsteen and Bumblefoot amongst others. This is is his third album and he is joined by Doug Green (Stone Temple Pilots/Scott Weiland) who co-produces and plays guitar on the album.

It is a mix of grunge-lite, not dissimilar to Stone Temple Pilots at times and some psychedelic musical ideas added to the mix. ‘Hollywood Blow’ and the strong chorus on ‘Out Of Control’ are the pick of the eight songs on here. Have a listen on his website for a feel of the music.  ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 10 June (Mon-Fri)

TAKE TODAY Lifeline (indie)
CRAZY LIXX Silent Thunder (Frontiers)
HAZY DAYS New Beginnings (indie)
MYRATH Wicked Dice (earMUSIC)
HOLLIS BROWN Do Me Right (Cool Green Recordings/Mascot)

Featured Albums w/c 10 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NITRATE Open Wide (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 CRAZY LIXX Forever Wild (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DANNY VAUGHN Myths, Legends & Lies (Townsend Music)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

VOODOO HILL Waterfall (2015)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply