Black Rainbows - Hawkdope


Heavy Pysch Records www.theblackrainbows.com [Released 15.03.15]

Their ‘Holy Moon’ EP released back in 2013 was a good slab of stoner rock. They are back with their new album and as the part of the title hints, one of the band’s main influences are Hawkwind. They really tap into that band’s cosmic sound, that and a healthy dose of the riffs of Monster Magnet.

Songs like the opening trio of ‘The Prophet’, ‘Wolf Eyes’ and the title track steamroller the listener under a heavy barrage of stoner guitar riffs and psychedelic sound effects. The slightly more calmer and subdued ‘The Cosmic Picker’ offers some much needed relief from the heavy sounds.

Black Rainbows know their sound and audience so no-one will be disappointed by this album. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

VARIOUS – Looking For Johnny – The Legend of Johnny Thunders Soundtrack

This rather excellent two CD soundtrack is released to coincide with Danny Garcia’s rather good film of the same name. The album features a host of essential Thunders’ post New York Dolls tracks ,both with and without The Heartbreakers,  in addition to music written for the film by the likes of Stevie Klasson, Jan Stenfors (that’s Hanoi Rocks’ Nasty Suicide to you and me) and The Bermondsey Joyriders.

Listening to the tracks included you can easily see why Thunders is regarded as a punk icon and inspiration to many a band to come. Obviously, there is not a weak track here and if I could recommend a starting point to anyone who has yet to discover the sonic delights on offer, then I would suggest starting with “Pirate Love”, “Little Bit of Whore”, “Born To Lose” and “Pipeline”.

Both the soundtrack and the film of “Looking For Johnny- The Legend of Johnny Thunders” are well worth a look. Whether you are a fan, never heard of Thunders’, or just not too familiar with his legendary playing- you will find something here to make your ears smile. *****

Review by Nikk Gunns

HAWK EYES – Everything Is Fine

The Red Vole

Hawk Eye’s “Everything Is Fine” is a polished, bombastic slab of modern rock, with punk edges at times, and shosw that the band is made for festivals. Having already supported the likes of System of A Down and played at Texas’ SXSW, the writing and recording process for the album started back in 2012.

The album opens, and closes, with a track where the atmospheric opening soon gives way to the bands no-nonsense brand of rock. Outstanding tracks include “Die Trying”, “Permission”, “More Than A Million” and the albums ultimate highlight “Night Music”.

Whilst the sound of “Everything Is Fine” isn’t normally my first choice of musical style, it is a good effort from the band. ***

Review by Nikk Gunns



On first listening to “Times of Division”, the third album from Freddy and The Phantoms, you would be forgiven for thinking the band is from somewhere in the Sates and not from Denmark. Yet this blues rock five piece hail from Copenhagen and are making big noise in their homeland.

With the album’s first singles- the slower bluesy “Storm On The Riverside” and “On The Sidewalk”, the latter reminiscent of INXS in their prime- have already gained heavy airplay on Denmark’s largest broadcaster DR-P4 and the band are the house band behind one of the country’s most popular comedians.  Freddy and The Phantoms sound will appeal to fans of Rival Sons and the like and it is time they expand their fan base across Europe.

The album’s opening, and title track, has some great keyboard moments and has a great blues swirl about it. The album also has some funkier moments to it in the shape of ”Down, Down, Down” and “No One To Blame”, there is also the darker “In The Attic” and the melancholy feel of “Sinking Ship”. The highlights on “Times of Division” are rounded off by “Morning Sun” and the bluesy groove of “No Time”.

All in all “Times of Division” is a good album and with a sound that will appeal to a whole new audience thanks to the likes bands like Rival Sons, Freddy and The Phantoms could have a bright future. ****

Review by Nikk Gunns

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply