THE GRISWOLDS - Be Impressive

THE GRISWOLDS – Be Impressive

Wind Up Records www.wearethegriswolds.com [Release date 25.05.15]

Australian four piece the Griswolds (named after the family in National Lampoon’s Family Vacation) are one for those who like a little bit of synth led indie pop.

They remind me of fellow synth pop band (also with an Australian singer!) Many Things on ‘If You Wanna Stay’. The current single ‘Down And Out’ is another boppy number, although the kids vocals on the chorus I can see grating on repeated plays!

‘Beware The Dog’ has been a hit in the US already and is the most instant song on here, combining the band’s love of synths and massed harmony vocals to good effect.

You will leave this album with a smile on your face as the musical beats are so darn good time and upbeat. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

MUTINY ON THE BOUNTY – Digital Tropics

Luxembourg is not exactly known for it’s bands (bar null points on Eurovision), however Mutiny On The Bounty are changing this. They are an instrumental quartet, post-rock if you go by the press release.

They veer all over the imaginary musical supermarket taking items from techno, prog, metal, rock and jazz. The opener sets the scene to entice you in, with a cinematic sound before ‘Countach’ comes in like Rush meets King Crimson.

Technical precision in the playing, not a note wasted or out of place. Little bit of electro dance in the aptly titled ‘danceAutomationdance’, whilst ‘MKL JKSN’ is another musical marvel, lots of reverb on the guitars to produce an other worldly sound.

Those who like an instrumental album that challenges the listener would do well to give this album a listen. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

THE UGLY GUYS – Still Twenty-Five In Your Head

Angel Air Records www.angelair.co.uk [Release date 01.06.15]

UK based band who feature amongst their line-up members of the Kursaal Flyers, and they play a traditional style of country music. The band have been around since 2003 and like their previous albums, most songs are original.

The story telling songs stand out for me like wild west on ‘Plains Of Mexico’ and ‘Uncle Billy’. They do a good version of ‘White Line Fever’ (that’s the Merle Haggard one not Motorhead’s songs!), lots of dobro and guitar on this one.

They play inoffensive, listenable traditional country music and they play it well. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

LOTTA LENE – Smoke & Mirrors

www.lottalene.com [Release date 02.04.15]

Lotta Lene is a Finnish singer who has hooked up with Jaka Makela to produce an album chock full of high quality Scandinavian AOR/melodic rock.

She does have a quite distinctive voice, particularly on hitting the upper vocal ranges as can be heard on ‘Promises’. Elsewhere you have the uptempo melodic rocker ‘What I Want’ and ‘Stay’, which reminded me of FM – with a female vocalist of course! Good variety of pace on the album too as ‘Riding Shotgun’ has a classic Whitesnake vibe to it, some tasty blues rock based guitar riffs on this one.

Certainly worth a listen and visit to her website if you enjoy female fronted AOR/melodic rock. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply