Album review: S.A.Y – Orion

S-A-Y - Orion

MelodicRock Records [Release date 22.05.15]

S.A.Y are Swedish and ‘Orion’ is yet another melodic rock record from the Scandinavian melodic rock factory that keeps churning out releases like it was 1986 all over again.

Who are S.A.Y then?  Perhaps friends of H.E.A.T and W.E.T…well maybe not as vocalist Peter Grundström and guitarist Jan Åkesson have been together since 2006 under the name StoneLake but have previously been together in Whitelight between 1984 and 1987…yep I’ve never heard of either of these bands either…

So back to ‘Orion’ then…what we have here is eleven bog standard melodic rock songs which are all competently played but they are all unfortunately lacking that magic touch. From opener Tragedy through to Under Your Spell everything just passes by in a blur.

The other issue is that of vocals…the press release calls Peter Grundström’s vocals as distinctive whereas I would call them high pitched and irritating.

Not sure where MelodicRock Records keep finding these bands but they need to start improving their strike rate…the phrase “quality control” springs to mind…

First impressions of ‘Orion’ were actually good but repeated plays just served to reveal how mediocre it actually is…bargain bin fodder is this one…  **

Review by Phil Berisford

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply