Album review: DAMN DICE – The Great Unknown





Self Release  ( release date 24.08.15)

In a world of screaming tortured vocals and riffs that sound like a rockfall in a quarry it’s good to find a band who are happy to play honest, melodic hard rock were melodies are plentiful and harmonies are only a chorus away. This is the debut album by Damn Dice who have been doing the rounds in the UK and beyond for the past four years, their live shows include a support slot across Europe with LA Guns.

The pairing with LA Guns was a good choice as the band have been heavily influenced by late 80’s US  rock, think Skid Row and you are on the right lines. Big riffs and even bigger choruses punctuate each track with impressive guitar work throughout provided by Wallis (no surnames required here!)

Highlights are plentiful across the 12 tracks on offer with the likes of ‘Power’ and the aptly named ‘Bang Your Head’ rocking hard and heavy. There is also the requisite metal ballad in the shape of ‘Words’ with a great vocal performance from Alex.

The rhythm section of Fransoa on drums and Marco on bass lay down a solid foundation on all tracks with Fransoa making good use of his double bass drum pedal. The album closer ‘Home’ is a slower, acoustic led track which builds to an excellent guitar solo crescendo before ending again on an acoustic note, a good way to round off a strong debut album.

Damn Dice may not be reinventing the wheel with their music but what they are doing is injecting a bit of fun into rock which is often sadly missing. The band are looking to tour extensively following the album release and I think that with Damn Dice on stage and a pint in hand a good night would be ensured.


Review by David Wilson

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 21 July (Mon-Fri)

DANNY BEARDSLEY This Fool (indie)
KRIS BARRAS Ignite (Light It Up) (Provogue)
MIND KEY Vertigo (Where The Cold Wind Blows) (Frontiers)
HOLLOW HAZE A Different Sky (Frontiers)
KIN SOUND SYSTEM Live Again (indie)
SAPIEN TRACE Precipice (indie)
FIFTEEN LIONS So Serene (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 21 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JANET GARDNER Your Place In The Sun (Pavement Music)
12:00-13:00 THE NEW ROSES Nothing But Wild (Napalm Records)
14:00-16:00 JESSE KINCH I’m Not Like Everybody Else (Curb Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

LOVE & MONEY Dogs In The Traffic (1991)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply