Album review: CLOSE QUARTERS – Always A Lot, Never Little

CLOSE QUARTERS - Always A Lot, Never Little

Fassberg & Osterlind Music

“Always A Lot, Never Little” is the second album from Sweden’s Close Quarters, a band who slot in nicely somewhere between the Backyard Babies, Hardcore Superstar and Michael Monroe- all of which have recently released new albums and this one can pretty much hold its own against any of them.

The album is consistently strong, the songs well written and, having played over 200 shows, the band sound good together. Since the release of 2011’s “We Believe In Rock N Roll” the band have seamlessly added second guitarist Marty and new singer Taliqua and these new additions work extremely well.

First single “My Way or The Highway” entered the Swedish rock charts at number one, as did its two predecessors, and paves the way nicely for the album. Having previously worked on Michael Monroe’s “Sensory Overdrive” album, “Always A lot, Never Little” was mixed by Petri Majuri and produced by Staffan Osterlind, who have done a sterling job here.

The album’s title track was written by Backyard Babies main man Nicke Borg whilst “Friday Feeling” features guest vocals from The Quireboys’ Spike and Pontus Snibb from Bonafide, all of which sits nicely with the band’s own sound. Other highlights include opening track “The Boys Are Back”, “Loving On Borrowed Time” and the punchy “Adrenaline Addicted”. The album closes with the obligatory ballad that is “For The First and Last Time”.

In “Always Alot, Never Little” Close Quarters have created a near perfect Scandinavian glam rock album that is not overly reliant on the sleaze factor- and that is what will set it apart from the majority of bands from the region currently having a go.  *****

Review by Nikk Gunns

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply