Album review: BRAINSTORM – Scary Creatures

BRAINSTORM – Scary Creatures

AFM Records [Release date 15.01.16]

Brainstorm’s 11th studio album “Scary Creatures” follows hot on the heels of 2014’s “Firesoul” and features ten more Euro-style power metal numbers.

The Bavarian band were formed way back in 1989 and released their first official release “Hungry” in 1997. The line-up remains stable again and still features three original members to this day – guitarists Torsten Ihlenfeld and Milan Loncaric plus drummer Dieter Bernert. Vocalist Andy B. Franck joined back in 1999 with bassist Antonio Ieva being the relative new boy – currently 9 years in the band.

The press release states that “Scary Creatures” is better than “Firesoul”…being more anthemic, heavier and delivered to the max…hmm…let’s see shall we…

An orchestra opens proceedings with some Hammer House of Horror creepiness before hell breaks loose on The World You See…reminds me of a heavy early Queensrӱche or Crimson Glory. Last time out vocalist Andy B Franck was Bruce Dickinson…this time it’s Geoff Tate on steroids…

How Much Can You Take follows a similar vein whilst We Are… blends a little Primal Fear, piano and a weird sounding kids choir into the mix. Where Angels Dream and Twisted Ways are nothing special. Title track Scary Creatures is a decent enough song but is let down somewhat by the strained vocal style used.

Brainstorm have turned up the heaviness but in doing so have lost some of the more intricate passages seen previously and the number of songs that just wash over you needs to be reduced…

More of the same…solid but very predictable…  ***

Review by Phil Berisford

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk (Sunday 27 June )

Check out full video

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 4 July 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 6 July 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 12 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 DENNIS DeYOUNG 26 East Volume 2 (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 HARDLINE Heart, Mind And Soul (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DAVID CROSBY For Free (BMG)

Power Plays w/c 11 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

PLANET FATALE Talking To Myself (indie)
CATALYSTS Sylvia (indie)
JESS KEMP Don’t You Cry (indie
KAASIN Hidden (indie)
VEGA Sooner Or Later (Frontiers)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply