Album review: BROTHERS OF MARS – Welcome To My Breakdown

BROTHERS OF MARS - Welcome To My Breakdown

[Release date 22.09.15]

A quick glance at the track listing on this solo project from Mauro Zarattini – ‘Mental Breakdown’, ‘Welcome To Hell’, ‘Tarot Reader’, and ‘Acid Rain’ – suggests that the listener is in for some, to use a well coined phrase, ‘heavy’ material.

In fact, Welcome To My Breakdown is a mix of different styles – from classical to metal, to progressive 70′s rock to alternative – all written, composed, and produced by Zarattini – a London-based keyboard player supported by guitarists Ben Cameron, Alastair Beveridge and Daniele Zarattini, and a core of Luna James (vocals), Matt Young (bass) and Anthony Sullivan (drums).

The reality is, however, that it never strays too far away from the mainstream and a quick Google finds Zarattini layering his keyboards over songs by the likes of Nightwish, Mk III Deep Purple and Neal Morse without breaking sweat.  It’s a fair approximation of what to expect.

As with many young players, dexterity isn’t an issue.  And while ‘aping’ is all very well, Zarattini doesn’t make a monkey of himself with Welcome To My Breakdown, although running out at only 32 minutes it’s no magnum opus.

The brief Intro wouldn’t be out of place in a Lord Of The Rings soundtrack, and while ‘Mental Breakdown’  and ‘Acceptance’ doff a hat towards symphonic metal, Luna James does a good job in putting her own mark on a genre where vocal cloning has become the norm.

Elsewhere, it’s a very credible – keyboard dominated – mainstream rock offering.  The only thing lacking is a sufficiently well balanced guitar counterpoint.  Name me a band who’s made it on the strength of their keyboardist alone.  Bring an equally talented six string young gun into the fold and Brothers Of Mars could be a name to reckon with.  ***1/2

Review by Pete Whalley

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 14 October (Mon-Fri)

SANGUINE Ignite (Odyssey Music)
GOODBYE JUNE Switchblade Heart (Earache)
SAINTS OF SIN Nasty Love (indie)
FLYING COLORS The Loss Inside (Mascot)
KEYWEST C’est La Vie (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 14 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 DANGER ZONE Don’t Count On Heroes (Pride & Joy Music)
12:00-13:00 ECLIPSE Paradigm (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 GALLAGHER & LYLE Live at De Montfort Hall, 1977 (The Store For Music)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

ROBIN TROWER In The Line Of Fire (1990)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply