THE WINTER TREE Earth Below www.thewintertreeband.com

Andrew Laitres is the main force behind this band, who also feature Mattias Olsson (Anglagard/White Willow/Necromonkey) on drums and percussion, Jacob Holm-Lupo (White Willow/Opium Cartel) who mixed the album plus played some guitar/synths, as well as the return of singer/lead guitarist Mark Bond.

You can get a sense of the band’s musical direction as Andrew dedicates the album to Saga’s Michael Sadler for inspiring him some thirty years ago. The music has the depth associated with Saga, plus on songs like ‘Plank’ it recalls 70′s era Supertramp. The songs are on the whole just over four minutes and the title track is the nearest to a full on, prog rock ‘wig out’! The music is very melodic, yet suitably intricate to entice in those after their prog rock.

Interesting album and it will appeal to lovers of Supertramp and the Alan Parsons Project. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

BRYAN ADAMS Get Up [Released 16.10.15]

This album is Bryan Adams’ first new studio album since 2008′s ’11′ (although he did a covers album last year) and his main co-songwriter Jim Vallance is heavily involved. Of interest to ELO fans is the fact Jeff Lynne produces the album, as well as playing a lot of the instruments on the album. Adams’ long standing guitarist Keith Scott pops-up on ‘Go Down Rockin’, which unsurprisingly is one of the rockiest songs on the album. None of his other live band appear on the album though like drummer Mickey Curry.

No surprise that Jeff Lynne’s sonic fingerprints are all over this one from the opening rock ‘n’ roll fun of ‘You Belong To Me’ through to the Traveling Wilburys sounding ‘That’s Rock And Roll’. The slower ‘We Did It All’ is one of his best songs for a long time and indeed this album is one of his best since ‘Waking Up The Neighbours’, released way back in 1991!

It is a short album, only nine new songs, which had some fans feeling short changed. There are four acoustic versions added and these are a treat for fans who have been waiting so long for new music. A good fun album and an added bonus for any ELO fans like me is Jeff Lynne’s involvement.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

JOE EGAN From Out Of Nowhere [Released 15.01.16] Angel Air www.angelair.co.uk

Joe Egan rose to prominence as half of Stealers Wheel (their huge hit being ‘Stuck In The Middle’), Gerry Rafferty making up the other half. Once that band broke up in 1975, Joe Egan went solo and this album was originally released in 1979, and until now has not been available on CD. Not quite sure why as it a perfect snapshot of the classic 70′s soft rock/singer songwriter music.

Musically it covers a few bases, from the Steely Dan like guitar woven through ‘Why Let It Bother You’ and the folk refrains on ‘The Last Farewell’ (with another early 70′s pair of hitmakers, Gallagher & Lyle, guesting on this song). Bit of Eagles country rock on ‘No Time For Sorrow’, highlighting what a musical talent Joe Egan has.

Interesting sleeve notes from his brother Kevin and the album’s producer David Courtney, make for an album that is worthy of a CD release.  ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply