Album review: FROST* – Falling Satellites

FROST* - Falling Satellites

Inside Out [Release date 27.05.16]

This album has been a long time coming as the last Frost* album was 2008′s ‘Experiments In Mass Appeal’ and we even had Jem Godfrey announce the end of the band in 2011, only for him later that same year say the band were back and working on new material. This album also marks the recording debut of the ‘new’ rhythm section of Nathan King and Craig Blundell – well they have been in the band since 2011.

The album sees them take a more pop prog route on some of the music and with Jem and John Mitchell sharing vocals it works really well. The album also marks the first time Godfrey and Mitchell have written together under the Frost* name.

Where to start? I will pick out a few highlights as you really need to buy/download (legally!) the album folks. ‘Lights’ with its female vocalist complementing the gentle synth led pop.  What a lovely song.

Frost* do dubstep shock! Yes they add some dubstep to ‘Towerblock’ and the keys/guitars on this are simply stupendous. Frost* do solos that last in the listener’s memory, not the ‘look at me’ solo for solo’s sake trap some progressive bands fall into.

‘Heartstrings’ has been released as the lead song and is the one that would fit easily on the previous two albums. Melodic, yet with enough complex musical passages to keep even the most ardent prog nerd happy. This song and the next five form part of a 32 minute suite.

The next song ‘Closer To The Sun’ dips a tentative toe into programmed beats/dance, but keeps the progressive air in the chorus and weird keys outro. Speaking of which, the synths/space/Vangelis feel of the instrumental ‘Hypoventilate’ is simply stunning. Where does the band keep getting all these wonderful ideas and music from?

Three albums, three good ‘uns, Frost* just keep on producing music to make you go ‘wow’ and long may that continue.  ****1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

UK tour dates:
Jun 17: Edinburgh Voodoo Rooms
Jun 18: Wath-Upon-Dearne Montgomery Hall
Jun 19: Bilston The Robin 2
Jul 23: Maidstone Ramblin’ Man Fair
Jul 29: Bristol Thekla
Jul 30: London O2 Islington Academy
Jul 31: Cambridge The Portland Arms


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 20 December., imbued with a festive flavour to raise the spirits

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Our Glass House (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SERGEANT STEEL Truck Tales (Boyz Tyme Records)
14:00-16:00 DAN REED Liftoff (Zero Entertainment)

Power Plays w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BLACK SPIDERS – Good Times (Dark Riders Records/Cargo Records)
GRAVITY MACHINE Standing Stones (Zyse Records)
EMPIIRES Love Or Hate (TLG Entertainment/INgrooves)
RAY FENWICK Tam Tam (Singsong Music)
DEAD REYNOLDS Voices (The Fort)
LAYLA ZOE Don’t Wanna Help Anyone (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply