Album review: THE SENTON BOMBS – Mass Vendetta

THE SENTON BOMBS - Mass Vendetta

7HardRecords [Release date 15.04.16]

This is the Senton Bombs fourth album and they have been plugging away for the past decade. I have not heard any of their previous albums but based on this one I will soon remedy that oversight. The band consists of Joey Class (vocals/bass), Damien Kage (guitars/vocals), Scott Mason (drums) and Johnny Gibbons (guitar/vocals).

Opener ‘Trailblazer’ gives a fair assessment of what the band are all about – intense rock ‘n’ roll  riffs, tight ass rhythm and the vocals of Joey Class who sounds like is a US singer, yet the band hail from Blackpool.  Well it is famous for its rock… (no more bad puns honest). This and the lead off track, ‘Mainstream’, really reminded me of Buckcherry around the time of their first couple of albums. A lot of press coverage mentions Guns ‘N’ Roses, which you can hear at times, often in the Slash approved solos.

The band sound so American it is uncanny at times. Take ‘Out West’, a mid paced number, listening to this you’d think you were listening to Tesla. Yet the title track has a fast, almost punk beat and is like the Backyard Babies crossed with Michael Monroe on speed. ’13 Days’ follows in the same fast groove and loving that bass line.

The Senton Bombs have the songs and the musical variety to get them noticed more. The closing track ‘Apex’ has a Sabbath-like riff, showing the band take many musical influences, mix them up and create a sound that it is their own, yet has familiarity to draw in fans of the aforementioned bands. Good time hard rock is in safe hands and if their live show is half as good as this album, they won’t remain a musical secret for long.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply