Album review: THE DEVILS MUSIC – The Devils Music

THE DEVILS MUSIC – The Devils Music

Coffee Jingle Records [Release date 02.09.16]

There is an old saying that you should never judge a book by its cover. The same can be said for review CD’s, take this release for example, a copied CD with hand written title on the front accompanied by two sheets of A4 with the band info. Not the most eye catching of packages and one that could be easily overlooked but thank the dark lord it wasn’t.

The Devils Music was founded by Daniel Finch who was previously in Devilment, a band which also featured the talents of Dani Filth. Indeed the tracks on this album were originally written for the Devilment’s second album but Daniel left the band before it saw the light of day.

The songs sat on the back burner for a year or so before Daniel, along with drummer and producer D-Rock, resurrected the tracks and recorded them for this release. The album features Daniel on guitar and Keyboards, D-Rock on drums and Paul Jensen on bass. Each of the 10 tracks features a different guest vocalist which adds another element to the recordings.

The band describe their sound as a mix of Cradle Of Filth and Machine Head which is a fair call. Dark and heavy in equal measure each track is well crafted and the album production is spot on. With a different vocalist on each track you would expect some of the tracks to sound like session tracks rather than cohesive band efforts but that is not the case. All tracks are top notch and sound like the output of a tight band who have been together of years.

If you like your music heavy and dark with the odd classical keyboard flourish then this is the album for you. As a debut album the quality of both the songwriting and production is highly impressive as is the playing throughout. The fact that the record label are offering the album on download for only £4 makes it an absolute steal!

To use another well worn phrase ‘the Devil has all the best tunes’, with this release I am not about to argue with that.  ****

Review by Dave Wilson


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply