SAGA Live In Hamburg  earMUSIC [Release date 02.09.16]

Fans may have many of the songs on here as it compiles the live songs that have been dotted over the recent reissues of the band’s studio albums which started last year. The show was recorded at Fabrik in Hamburg back in April 2015 and the crowd join in enthusiastically on every song – Germany is after all one of Saga’s biggest fan bases.

The setlist covers the classics you’d expect like ‘On The Loose’, ‘The Flyer’ and ‘Wind Him Up’, plus good to hear ‘Wildest Dreams’ from their more synth led mid-late 80’s period.

It is limited to a 5,000 copy run and aimed squarely at diehard fans I’d assume, although it is the band’s fifth live album in the past decade which maybe milking it a bit! ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Seven - Shattered

SEVEN Shattered Escape Music [Release date  23.09.16]

Seven are back with a follow-up to their excellent 2014 comeback album ’7′. That album used a number of name guests including Adam Wakeman and Mike Slammer, this time around it is more a band affair with Lars Chriss producing, plus playing drums and guitars. The band’s main focus though is vocalist Mike Devine who uncannily sounds like Lou Gramm at times – listening to ‘Fight’ you’d think it was Gramm-era Foreigner.

The ’7′ album had a fair few keys, this time around the keys are set to max and there are two keyboardists – Frederik Burgh and Kay Buckland – to cope with the keyboards overload!

There are many musical treats on here for those hankering after an 80′s flavoured melodic rock fix, be it the fast paced ‘Live This Life’ or the simply awesome opening song ‘Light Of 1,000 Eyes’. The latter reminded me of ELO Part 2, more specifically the vocals of Eric Troyer and the song is amongst the best tunes I have heard this year.

‘High Hopes’ shows of more of the pomp-tastic keys wrapped around a catchy tune, whilst ‘Taking Over’ is one of those classic positive message melodic rock tunes and has a damn fine guitar riff.

I am very glad this comeback by Seven was not just a one-off album as they have plenty still to offer and if you enjoyed their last album you will love this.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

SETH LAKEMAN featuring WILDWOOD KIN Ballads Of The Broken Few

SETH LAKEMAN featuring WILDWOOD KIN Ballads Of The Broken Few Cooking Vinyl [Release date 16.09.16]

Seth Lakeman is one of the leading lights in the current UK folk scene and has had notable chart success with each of his albums to date, including on top ten placing with 2008′s ‘Poor Man’s Heaven’.

One this his eight studio album, he is joined by Wildwood Kin, a female trio consisting of sisters Emillie and Beth Key and their cousin Meghann Loney. There soaring and at times haunting, harmonies add to the otherwise sparse musical arrangements on this album. Take for instance the title track, just Seth’s vocal and the Wildwood Kin backed by a distorted guitar and hand claps – it works wonderfully.

On traditional songs like ‘The Willow Tree’ Seth Lakeman puts in a sterling vocal performance and ‘Wherever I’m Home’ is a heartfelt song about home and belonging.

As folk music becomes more mainstream, or at least more exposed to a greater audience, Seth Lakeman will continue to be one of its leading lights. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie






The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply