THE SILENT RAGE The Deadliest Scourge

Alone Records

The Silent Rage hail from Greece (and not to be confused with the melodic rockers Silent Rage) and consist Nikos Siglidis (guitar/vocals), Vocals Steve Venardo (lead/growling vocals), Stavros Tsilivarakos (bass), Stamatis Katsafados (drums) and Kostas Krikos (lead guitar). This is the band’s first full length album having previously released a couple of EP’s. They are joined by a few notable guests including Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars) and Yossi Sassi (ex-Orphaned Land).

Although the band seem to be lumped in with the power metal crowd, many of their songs reminded me more of Metal Church, successfully melding a little thrash into the pounding metal such as on ‘Between Harmony And Sorrow’ (complete with some Cookie Monster approved growls!) and ‘Sin Of A Pilgrim’.

The Silent Rage have produced an accomplished debut album, one which has a good production and certainly worth a listen.***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

SNAKE EYE The Journey

Angel Air

Snake Eye started life as Red Dirt who in 1970 had a self-titled album released on the Fontana label. The band were signed to new management who promptly changed the band’s name to Snake Eye and they toured with the likes of Free, the Kinks and Status Quo. The band have recently reformed featuring original guitarist Ron Hales and timely given Angel Air’s release of their album ‘The Journey’.

Lovers of 70′s prog rock from the likes of Wishbone Ash will enjoy Snake Eye as they eschew the keyboards beloved of many 70′s prog rockers and instead focus on lots of thoughtful and top notch guitar solos. In fact the guitar duels on ‘Sweet Dream Lady’ veer more to the southern rock giants like Lynyrd Skynyrd and the Doobie Brothers.

Two bonus songs on here are ‘Tolly Cobbold’, sounding like Fairport Convention on this one and a live instrumental ‘Hoe Down’.

Of definite interest to 70′s prog rock collectors and given the musical talent on here, another band that sadly never got the exposure and success they deserved. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply