Album review: JODY GRIND – Reissues

JODY GRIND - One Step On

Esoteric [Release date 25.11.16]

Some readers may remember a motley band of musicians who  – back in the late seventies – masqueraded under that sometimes irksome banner “supergroup”, Hinkley’s Heroes.  At various times they included Mel Collins, John Halsey and Bobby Tench (who worked with  Mike Patto in Patto and Boxer respectively and with whom Hinkley also worked) and Henry McCullough.  The mainman was keyboard player Tim Hinkley who, back in 1968, formed the proto prog power trio Jody Grind.  Essentially it was a vehicle for Hinkley and his glorious Hammond organ.

The band’s two albums – originally on the fledgling Transatlantic label – are now re-issued with bonus tracks.  One Step On released in October 1969 featured Hinkley with members of Elkie Brooks’ backing band.  This included guitarist Ivan Zagni who had previously been in a band with Mike Patto with whom Hinkley worked in ‘Patto’s People’.

The 18 minute, four-part  opening track ‘One Step On’ is a classic piece of late-1960s jazz fused prog replete with horn arrangements by future Jethro Tull collaborator David Palmer.

Think more accessible Colosseum with copious amounts of Hammond,  the prog band Affinity, Argent, or even Focus at their jamming best.  It is not surprising that the band were to garner a cult following in the Netherlands.

‘Lttle Message’ on the other hand recalls the duelling between Vincent Crane and John Du Cann in Atomic Rooster mixed with ‘Spinning Wheel’-era Blood Sweat & Tears.  A heady brew, indeed.  ****

JODY GRIND - Far Canal

By 1970′s follow up Far Canal the band had changed personnel with Hinkley joined by guitarist Bernie Holland (later with Hummingbird, Stealer’s Wheel)  and Pete Gavin (Head, Hands & Feet).  The album was more progressive in content, lacking the horns and opening with the acoustic-based ‘We’ve Had It’ although tracks like ‘Bath Sister’ and ‘Jump Bed Jed’ hark back to the debut.

‘O Paradiso’ on the other hand has a “Jin Go Lo Ba” vibe and is a great testament to this band’s jamming credentials replete with de rigueur drum solo.  Ditto the tremendous ‘Red Worms & Lice’ which is the band’s take on ‘Red Beans & Rice’ and references Booker T & The MGs.

Holland was influenced by Boxer’s Ollie Halsall and his guitar figures are both fluid and inventive.  In the wake of Cream’s great success and ultimate break-up here was a trio that might have expanded that band’s more adventurous side. ****1/2

This band must have been stonking live but sadly, on the second album, ‘Plastic Shit’ is the only vestige of live recording although both releases are bolstered with bonus alternate and single versions.

These two reissues are essential purchases for lovers of Hammond-infused prog blues and superby redolent of their era.  Again a great restoration job by Esoteric and informative sleeve notes by label supremo Mark Powell.  Buyers should be aware that these albums were originally available on a 2007 Castle/Sanctuary set.

Review by David Randall

David Randall presents ‘Assume The Position’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio every Sunday at 22:00 GMT.

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 February, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 7 February 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 26 January 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 February 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 RADAR Lost In The Atlantic (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 DURBIN The Beast Awakens (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN – The Darkest Days Are The Brightest (InsideOut Music)

Power Plays w/c 22 February 2021 (Mon-Fri)


ALLY VENABLE Road To Nowhere

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply