Album review: MIKKO JOENSUU – Amen 2

Svart Records [Release date 16.12.16]

Mikko Joensuu is in the middle of releasing a trilogy based on hos own experiences of dealing with depression and loneliness, along with coming to terms with the idea that God did not exist in his mind anymore. His first album was made with acoustic instruments only, whereas ‘Amen 2′ Mikko uses all sorts of musical wonders from strings, synths and loops through to gospel arrangements.

Listening to this album the listener is soon immersed in a wonderful array of sounds, lyrics and the plaintive vocals of Mikko. He has a very melodic vocal and it sits well with the lush music. ‘Sunshine’ does seem like the sun is shining as you listen to the uplifting sounds, reminded me a little of the Polyphonic Spree. The epics ‘I Gave You All’ (all twenty minutes of it) and ‘There Used To Be A Darkness’ seem to pass by in a flash.

An album to immerse and lose yourself in the music. You can see why vinyl is making a comeback as an album like this is made for vinyl (it is available on double vinyl) and headphones. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 5 August (Mon-Fri)

COCO MONTOYA I Wouldn’t Wanna Be You (Alligator)
SKYFEVER Burning Hands (OTI Records)
HENRY’S FUNERAL SHOE High Shoulders Everywhere (indie)
MICHAEL J BOLTON Trans Lunar Injection (Market Square)

Featured Albums w/c 5 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 STRANDED New Dawn (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 HOLLOW HAZE Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Sea (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 SESSION AMERICANA North East (indie)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

BRIAN ROBERTSON – Diamonds And Dirt (2011)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply