D'ERCOLE - No Place Like Home

D’ERCOLE No Place Like Home

This is the fourth album from melodic hard rock band D’Ercole and they have released it themselves having left Z Records. The album features Phil Vincent as the main songwriter and producer (does this man never sleep?!), with Damian D’Ercole on guitars and they are joined by bassist Arnold Williams and drummer B.F. D’Ercole.

The sound is a little heavier than on the previous album and they have a sixteen minute track in the shape of ‘Epic Failure’, which being honest does overstay its welcome a tad. Elsewhere though the hard rocking ‘Talk To Me’ and the album’s ballad ‘Dreamer’ make this a decent album of melodic rock, well worth a listen. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

JIM JIDHED - Push On Through

JIM JIDHED Push On Through
AOR Heaven [Release date 27.01.17]

This the fifth solo outing from Jim Jidhed, lead singer with Alien. He is joined by fellow Alien band member bassist Ken Sandin and guitarists Michael Palace (who’s own band Palace debuted on Frontiers last year) and Philip Lindstrand.

It is a very laid back affair for much of the album (even the more rock orientated songs are not that heavy) with Jim playing to his strengths vocally on the ballads and slower numbers. Best moments include the reflective ’It Is What It Is’, ‘If We Call It Love’ where the guitars make themselves known and the Toto refrains on ‘Next In Line’.

Fans of Alien and his previous solo work will lap this one up. Being honest I can’t see this winning over many new fans as it is listenable, but not an album you’d return to often. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


Fysisk Format [Release date 03.02.17]

Beacheads feature members of Norwegian band Kvelertak and this, their debut release, is an upbeat set of songs tipping their hat to 90′s Brit pop and back a little further to early XTC and the Undertones,

Each song features a jaunty guitar riff and covers many subjects, including a loved one on ‘Despair’, where the lyric is totally at odds with the melody yet it works well. ‘Your Highness’ is already up on YouTube and is a good summary of the music contained on the rest of the album.

If 90′s influenced indie pop rock floats your boat then make sure you weigh anchor in the Beacheads musical harbour. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply