Lightning Rod Records [Release date 07.04.17]

The Weeks have been around since 2006 and they consist of Cyle Barnes (vocals), Samuel Williams (guitar/vocals), Cain Barnes (drums) and Damien Bone (bass). They have toured with the likes of Kings Of Leon (and they do sound a little like that band especially on ‘Talk Like That’) and the Meat Puppets.

The Weeks work best when rocking it up as can be heard on the classy groove of ‘Bottle Rocket’. With its call and response chorus this one is perfect for the live setting, The aforementioned ‘Talk Like That’ does remind you of Kings Of Leon, whilst ‘Gold Doesn’t Rust’ sees the band utilise their strong backing vocals, coupled with the band’s love of a foot stomping guitar riff.

With the success over here in the UK of southern rock influenced bands like Black Stone Cherry and Blackberry Smoke, you can now add The Weeks. Kick back and let this music wash over you, the soundtrack to your summer just arrived… ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

ABEL RAISE THE CAIN - For Strangers Only

ABEL RAISE THE CAIN For Strangers Only
www.abelraisethecain.com [Release date 31.03.17]

Abel Raise The Cain hail from Teesside and their line-up consists of Sean Crichton (guitar/vocals), Adam Hicks (drums), Gary Hughes (bass/vocals), Shaun Buckle (guitar),  Gaz Murray (keys) and Saerla Murphy (violin).

You need to listen to this album in one go – its no good on the old iPod shuffle for example – as the songs blend into one long, atmospheric piece. Mercury Rev were the one similar band that kept popping into my head when listening to this album. Abel Raise The Cain successfully include sweeping musical arrangements along with a keen ear for a melody in the Coldplay vein.

Interesting album and it harks back to the classic album period where listener’s would play the whole album in one sitting. How well this will fare in the days of instant downloads and streaming, who knows, but give this one your attention if you get the chance. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


[Release date 07.04.17]

I reviewed this band’s debut EP back at the end of 2013 and was suitably impressed, with their debut album ‘Weird Little Birthday’, gaining suitably rave reviews from indie blogs through to ‘Rolling Stone’. No pressure then on that difficult second album then lads… No real problem though as the Happyness know what they want to achieve musically and create sounds that encompass indie rock, jazz rhythms and a distinct ear and love of harmony vocal led bands.

The spacey ‘The Reel Starts Again (Man As Ostrich)’ not only wins most bizarre song title of the month award, but more importantly recalls Mercury Rev. They never veer to far off the indie rock/US college rock sound as can be heard on ‘Anytime’ (and the band’s harmony vocals on this one are blissful). They create a dreamy soundtrack on ‘Tunnel Vision On Your Part’, the album’s stand out song.

Part indie rock, part atmospheric soundscapes Happyness will again reap the plaudits and hopefully subsequent success this album deserves. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply