Album review: DEEP PURPLE – inFinite

DEEP PURPLE - inFinite

earMUSIC [Release date 07.04.17]

2013′s ‘Now What?!’ found Deep Purple in rude good form and backed up by a well received UK tour.  With more UK dates in November 2017, inFinite doesn’t quite match the sheer audacity of that album which was aligned historically with a more overtly commercial album like ‘Perfect Strangers’.  inFinite is, though, sure to appeal more to lovers of the early 1970s incarnation.

Part of the problem with this album are the lyrics and the subject matter .  It’s left to Don Airey and the redoubtable Steve Morse to inject some sense of purpose to the proceedings.  It seems that in his dotage Gillan has bowed to the observational, the conversational, and the occasional expletive deleted (‘Get Me Outta Here’, ‘Johnny’s Band’, ‘On Top Of The World’) .  There’s no hollering here, just a sense of advancing years and a whiff of the golf course.

The best tracks really appear on the two EPs that trailed the album and arguably those are better packages in their own right as they come with bonus non-album tracks.  ‘Time For Bedlam’ and ‘Hip Boots’ are classic if somewhat perfunctory Purple,  the latter lifted by Morse and Airey’s solos.  “All I Got Is You’ is probably the album’s best five minutes along with ‘On Top Of The World’.

‘One Night In Vegas’ is a bluesy shuffle whilst ‘The Surprising’ recalls Mike & The Mechanics’  ‘Another Cup Of Coffee’ and therefore is hardly, er, surprising.  ‘Birds Of Prey’ adopts a different, almost proggy, approach that may have served this album better overall but the inclusion of ‘Roadhouse Blues’ seems to be mere filler and, in context, somewhat incongruous.

‘Now What?!’ was a fantastic return after a gap of eight years and ‘inFinite’ fails to capitalise on that album’s promise.  The forthcoming tour is billed as “The Long Goodbye”: it would be a great shame if the band bow out on an album that belies its title.  ***1/2

Review by David Randall

David Randall presents ‘Assume The Position’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio every Sunday at 22:00 GMT.

The Best of 2017

Josh Taerk promo

Check out Canadian singer songwriter Josh Taerk and his exclusive live session via Get Ready to ROCK!’s Facebook page

In his show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on Sunday 29 March David Randall featured a selection of tracks from “Albums of the Month” (January-March 2020) (29:45)

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HARTMANN 15 Pearls And Gems (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. II (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 GRAHAM GOULDMAN Modesty Forbids (Lojinx)

Power Plays w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

LOUISE LEMON Devil (Icons Creating Evil Art )
BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE Winter Keeps Us Warm (indie)
ONE DESIRE Shadowman (Frontiers)
CRYSTAL IGNITE Black Mamba (indie)
PICTURESQUE ATTN: (Rude Records/Equal Vision Records)
SKARLETT RIOT Human (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, The Best of 2017 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply