Album review: THE FILL INS – The Time Is Now

THE FILL IN's - The Time Is Now

Hallelujah brothers and sisters! The Fill Ins are back!!! Charlotte NC’s fantastic rock and roll combo have been slugging it out in the studio, hammering out a brand new album and it is finally approaching its release date, and as a huge fan of theirs I couldn’t be more excited! Back in 2014 when they released their debut full length album Hipster Killers, my love of their distinct brand of high octane, unabashed hard rock and roll blew my mind. So much so it was on my Top 5 list for Album of the Year that year.

Returning off the heels of 2015′s 5th Time’s the Charm, an equally killer release, a handful of EP’s, and a slew of live shows, The Fill Ins are back and better than ever. The Time Is Now is an appropriate title, as the time very well could be now for thie quartet.

Joining the already established trio of Alex Stiff on guitars/vocals, Mikey Black lead guitar, and James “Captain” Nunn on bass is new drummer Adam Patterson who also beats the skins for Deadlock NCHC.

The Fill Ins are more known for their fast tempo rock sound, but with the addition of Patterson it has added an extra level of heaviness to that massive rocking vibe they have. It’s still 100% their true sound. With tracks like first single/video “Lock and Load,” “Gold Digger,” and “Hit the Gas” The Time Is Nowis 22 minutes of catchy sing-along, foot stomping and head bouncing, good time in your face rock and roll.

The late, great Lemmy started off many of their shows with, “We are Motorhead, and we play rock and roll.” The Fill Ins are in that same vein. Despite a harder delivery and that DIY punk spirit, at their very core they are a rock and roll band.

Few bands are able to capture that live show vibe on an album, but without a doubt The Fill Ins have done just that with The Time Is Now. So hit the gas and get your ass to your nearest record store (or online shop) and get this one! It’s a scorcher!  *****

Review by Chris Martin


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 20 December., imbued with a festive flavour to raise the spirits

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Our Glass House (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SERGEANT STEEL Truck Tales (Boyz Tyme Records)
14:00-16:00 DAN REED Liftoff (Zero Entertainment)

Power Plays w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BLACK SPIDERS – Good Times (Dark Riders Records/Cargo Records)
GRAVITY MACHINE Standing Stones (Zyse Records)
EMPIIRES Love Or Hate (TLG Entertainment/INgrooves)
RAY FENWICK Tam Tam (Singsong Music)
DEAD REYNOLDS Voices (The Fort)
LAYLA ZOE Don’t Wanna Help Anyone (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply